• 225
  • 0

How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Facebook

Michelle Wilson - September 15, 2022

How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Facebook

Facebook is increasing in popularity, with over a billion active online users. While no one wants to believe they’ve been blocked on social media, it happens more often than we think. If you haven’t seen a friend’s post recently, there’s a chance that action is intentional. If you’d like to know whether someone blocked you on Facebook, here’s what you’ll need to know to check.

Look for Your Friend’s Posts in Your Facebook Feed

Many users will wonder whether they’ve been blocked by a friend on Facebook when their posts seemingly disappear from their feed. Before jumping to conclusions, it’s important to remember that posts can frequently be hidden from view, thanks to Facebook’s algorithm. This algorithm is infamous for picking and choosing some accounts over others when displaying details. Additionally, you may have been placed on Facebook’s restricted list.

Here’s what you’ll need to know when determining whether Facebook’s algorithm or a block is responsible for the missing posts.

  1. Visit the Facebook website or mobile application. Choose the search bar at the top of the screen and type in your friend’s name.
  2. Select your friend’s name and profile picture to view their private page. If the name or profile doesn’t appear, there’s a chance they may have blocked your account.
  3. Alternatively, the individual may have disabled their account for a period, removing them from search results.

Use the Facebook Messenger Application to Check if Your Account is Blocked

  1. Visit the Facebook Messenger platform, whether using the independent app or website.
  2. Tap the Compose button in the top-right corner that looks like a notepad and pen. Other versions may display this as a plus symbol in the top-right corner.
  3. The application will prompt you to enter the name of the individual you’d like to message. Start typing your friend’s name into the field.
  4. The profile name and photo should appear, meaning you haven’t been blocked. If the user doesn’t show up, you may have misspelled the word, you’ve been blocked, or they’ve deactivated their account.

Scan Through Your Friends List

A simple way to check whether you’ve been blocked on Facebook is by actively scanning your friend list. If the person you suspect has blocked you doesn’t appear on your Facebook friends list, they’ve likely unfriended or blocked you. If they appear on the friend list, you’re still connected on Facebook.

  1. Log into your Facebook app or website through the computer and visit your profile photo.
  2. Once on your profile, you should see a horizontal menu with options: About, Photos, and Friends. Choose the Friends section of the profile.
  3. As the Friends list loads, scroll through the list to manually locate the individual you’re looking for. Alternatively, search for the user through the search functionality on the application. The account won’t appear on your list if you’ve been unfriended or blocked on Facebook.
  4. Make sure you search for the name they’ve used on their Facebook account instead of the nickname or professional name you know them as.

Ask a Third-Party to Check

If you’ve tried searching for a friend on the social media platform, ask a mutual contact whether their profile still shows active on the account. If the profile indicates on their account but not yours, the account has blocked you from all communication. Ask the friend to search for the individual’s name or email address according to the directions above. If the profile doesn’t appear for their account either, there’s a chance the user deactivated the account.

Tips for Looking Up a Friend

When you search for a friend using the search bar, ensure you’re spelling the name correctly as they’ve entered it on their profile. Occasionally, users will use initials, abbreviations, or nicknames on their profile which will change their visibility online. Their account won’t show up when searching for their real name.

To get around this technicality, ask a mutual friend or contact if they know the user’s profile name or an account on Facebook. Users can always search for someone using their email address, but you’ll need the email address they used to create the original Facebook account.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Do I Delete My Facebook Account?

To delete your Facebook account, you’ll need to visit the account page on the platform. Visit the triangle at the top right-hand corner of your account and select the Settings and Privacy button. From there, select the Settings option and choose the Facebook Information tab. Finally, you’ll need to select the Delete My Account function and continue with the appropriate steps.

Deleting your account will permanently remove your profile from all friends and contacts. The account won’t be visible online, and you won’t be able to use it after selecting this option.

How Do I Change my Name on Facebook?

If you’d like to change your name on Facebook, visit the account settings at the top right corner. Choose the Settings and Privacy section and choose the Name category. Make any appropriate changes to the name and then select Review Change.

How Do I Adjust My Friends Section on Facebook?

To adjust your Friends section on Facebook:

  1. Click your profile picture at the top of your Facebook account.
  2. Navigate to the Settings & Privacy section and choose the Settings option.
  3. From the left column, select the privacy category. You’ll see a section titled “Who can see your friends list?” and choose the edit button on the far right.
  4. Select the audience of individuals you’d like to access your friend list on the social media platform.

What Should I Do If I Believe I’ve Been Blocked on Facebook?

Occasionally, an account gets deleted or deactivated for personal reasons. When this happens, all connections will appear to remove from the account. Thankfully, this isn’t the case; it’s simply an account no longer used. Before freaking out about being blocked online, always talk to your friend or contact about the account. It’s always easier to reach out and ask questions than assume you’ve done something wrong.

Conclusion

Although no one likes to consider their friends would block them on social media, there are times when silence is noticeable online. If you suspect your friend blocked you on Facebook, cycle through the above steps to understand better what happened. If possible, always talk to them personally to find out what happened, as there are situations when blocking is nothing more than a misunderstanding. Being blocked may hurt emotionally, but uncovering the truth is a simple way to get a resolution when trying to find out what happened.

Related Posts

What is a Personal Information Manager (PIM)?

Michelle Wilson - January 20, 2023

How to Start a Staffing Agency in Texas

Michelle Wilson - November 29, 2022